My Uncle Jerry passed away last year. He was my great-granduncle on my father’s side and he lived a very interesting life; Jerry served as a member of the Military Police in the US army, and ended up settling as a military instructor in upstate New York.  When I was young he would come back and visit my grandparents, who lived next door to my family home.

I loved spending time with Uncle Jerry; he was a live wire, always ribbing people and encouraging mischief.  When he was home, you could often him playing a few holes on the local golf course in his usual outfit of polo shirt, slacks and NHS glasses. He taught me any number of bad jokes, introduced me to Reece’s Peanut Butter Cups and was the person who truly got me into comics.

Every couple of months I would get a package containing titles including Spiderman, Batman, X-Men, Superman and The Avengers, as well as National Geographic.  These publications had a huge impact on me, and I was so happy for every one of them, as they were almost impossible to get in Ireland at the time. So many of my subsequent interests and pursuits later in life were born out of the fact that he sent them to me, and for that I am very grateful.

I miss Jerry, especially around this time of year, but I’m sure he’s happy and joking around wherever he is.

