Giddy from just finishing David Ogilvy’s wonderful book, Confessions of an Advertising Man, I was excited to stumble across AMC and marketing agency Deep Focus’s Mad Men Yourself site.  Launched in preparation for Mad Men season 3 premiere in mid-August, the site allows you to create a personalised avatar for both ‘suits’ and ‘skirts’ in a variety of cool 50’s Madison Avenue style clothes and accessories.

Mad Men Yourself

The end output is an avatar of your character (small & large) as well as a scene of said avatar in a Mad Men setting, such as the bar, Sterling Cooper’s offices or even Don Draper’s House.

Peggy - hold my calls, get me a fresh martini and keep that weasel Pete out of my office

Peggy - hold my calls, get me a fresh martini and keep that weasel Pete out of my office

There isn’t anything technologically revolutionary about this at all, but there doesn’t have to be.  This is a well executed viral as it actively made me want to create a character for the setting and to share it with people.  I guess creating something like this is easier when you have a fundamentally cool product like Mad Men, but still – good show.

